Monday, February 2, 2015

Android 4.4.x KitKat - How to ReEnable the Location consent prompt

Hi guys,
As you may have noticed, every time you turn on the Location (GPS) feature on Android, you are prompted with the following message:


If you're like me, when it comes to guarding my privacy - I would simply choose "Disagree" or "Agree", but I wouldn't check the box "Don't show again".

But what if you've accidentally hit that checkbox prior to making your selection?
How do you get that prompt back?

He're the solution:
1. Your phone must be rooted.
2. Install a file explorer with root privileges, such as the excellent "FX File Explorer Plus Root".
3. Open FX, and navigate to System (root). When you see the "Root Access Authorization" message, tap "OK".
Continue to: data -> data -> com.google.android.gms > shared_prefs.
There, open the file nlp-prefs.xml for editing:
4. Change from:
<boolean name="confirmNlp" value="false" />

To:
<boolean name="confirmNlp" value="true" />

5. Tap "Save".
6. Restart the phone.

The prompt will now show up again every time you turn "Location" on.